Akpabio, other APC candidates lose Essien Udim rerun

The APC candidate for the Ikot Ekpene Senatorial District, Akwa Ibom North West, Chief Godswill Akpabio was yesterday defeated in a court ordered Essien Udim rerun election by Senator Christopher Ekpenyong of the Peoples Democratic Party.

Other candidates Rt. Hon. Nse Ntuen who contested for the House of Assembly was defeated by Barr Esse Umoh of the PDP and Rt. Hon. Emmanuel Akpan was defeated by Rt. Hon. Nsikak Ekong of the Peoples Democratic Party. Below are details of the election result as released by the Independent National Electoral Commission.

PDP -19,924
APC – 6,903

APC -6,450
PDP – 20, 235

PDP -18, 999
APC -7108

Sen. Chris Ekpenyong, Nsikak Ekong and Esse Umoh
Winners of the Essien Udim rerun election

The winners will soon receive certificates of return from the resident electoral commissioner, Mr Mike Igini.