National Assembly sets to adopt NDDC budget

The National Assembly is set to pass the budget of the Niger Delta Development Commission (NDDC).

This follows the laying of the reports of the Committee on Niger Delta Development Commission by both chambers of the National Assembly. Continue reading “National Assembly sets to adopt NDDC budget”

Exposing Illegality of Ex-Governors Pension Law

By Ekemini Simon

State Governors in service to the State are paid salaries among other entitlements. Whether they deliver on their mandate or not, there is hardly any debate on if they deserve a pay or not especially as the Scriptures at 1 Timothy 5:18 says that ” The labourer deserves his Wages.”

However, in many States of the Federation, when Governors and their Deputies exit office, they continue to draw emoluments from the State treasury through the nomenclature of pension for former governors. Continue reading “Exposing Illegality of Ex-Governors Pension Law”

Press release by Akwa Ibom PDP on the defeat of Akpabio, Ntuen and Akpan

Press statement

‘Essien Udim ends disgraceful national Comedy with uncommon defeat’ being the Statement of the Peoples Democratic Party, Akwa Ibom State on the concluded Court Ordered Rerun in Essien Udim Local Government Area.

With the declared results by INEC of the Court ordered rerun elections in Essien Udim Local Government Area for the Senate, House of Representatives and House of Assembly seats, the people of Essien Udim have brought a glorious end to an inglorious, disdainful and disgraceful comedy session staged under the leadership of the National Comedian himself and actively supported by the pioneer and only speaker of the House of Comedy. Continue reading “Press release by Akwa Ibom PDP on the defeat of Akpabio, Ntuen and Akpan”

Akpabio, other APC candidates lose Essien Udim rerun

The APC candidate for the Ikot Ekpene Senatorial District, Akwa Ibom North West, Chief Godswill Akpabio was yesterday defeated in a court ordered Essien Udim rerun election by Senator Christopher Ekpenyong of the Peoples Democratic Party.

Other candidates Rt. Hon. Nse Ntuen who contested for the House of Assembly was defeated by Barr Esse Umoh of the PDP and Rt. Hon. Emmanuel Akpan was defeated by Rt. Hon. Nsikak Ekong of the Peoples Democratic Party. Below are details of the election result as released by the Independent National Electoral Commission.

PDP -19,924
APC – 6,903

APC -6,450
PDP – 20, 235

PDP -18, 999
APC -7108

Sen. Chris Ekpenyong, Nsikak Ekong and Esse Umoh
Winners of the Essien Udim rerun election

The winners will soon receive certificates of return from the resident electoral commissioner, Mr Mike Igini.